The Sturge Prize

Call for Nominations

The Sturge Prize Committee is now soliciting nominations for the 2016 Sturge Prize, which will be awarded at the 19th International Conference on Dynamical Processes in Excited States of Solids (DPC’16). 

Eligible nominees are researchers who are in the initial phase of their scientific career (including postdoctoral fellows) in the field of condensed matter spectroscopy, including experimental and theoretical studies of excited-state dynamics in solids.

Nominations should consist of a letter of citation, a copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae and  one letter of endorsement by people acquainted with the nominee's contributions. 

The deadline of submitting nominations for the DPC'16 Sturge Prize is May 19, 2016, and the winner will be announced by June 1, 2016

Nominations should be sent to: 

Professor Mike Reid
Chairman of Sturge Prize Committee 
Department of Physics and Astronomy and Department of Chemistry
University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand

The Sturge Prize

The International Advisory Committee (IAC) of the International Conference on Dynamical Processes in Excited States of Solids (DPC) met in August 2003
 in Christchurch, New Zealand on the occasion of the 14th convocation of these
 meetings and voted unanimously to establish a prize to be awarded in future
 DPC's in honor of Professor Michael D. Sturge who passed away in 2003.

Professor Sturge made significant contributions to our understanding in many 
areas of the optical properties of the condensed phases and exercised foresight
and leadership in establishing the Journal of Luminescence as the premier
 depository of spectroscopic properties of the solid state. He had a continuing and deep seated concern for the welfare of young students which he demonstrated amply during his tenure at Dartmouth College. For these reasons, the IAC felt it appropriate to establish a prize in his honor which would recognize contributions made by researchers in the field of Condensed Matter Spectroscopy who are in the initial phases of their scientific careers.

Previous Sturge Prize winners:

DPC'05: Irene Georgakoudi

DPC‘07: Angel García-Adeva

DPC‘10: Thierry Chanelière 

DPC'13: Richard Hildner    

Best Poster Prize

Following the successful establishment of the Best Poster Prize in DPC'05, DPC'07, DPC'10 and DPC'13, the best posters presented at DPC’16 will be rewarded. The prize aims to encourage the graduate students, post-docs, and junior scientists to devote their future research to the field of excited-state dynamics. The best poster prize nomination committee will select up to 8 winners for this prize based on the scientific content, clarity of “in situ” presentation, and artistic lay-out.

Online user: 1